DRIVING WHILE USING YOUR CELL PHONE IS NOT ONLY DANGEROUS, BUT IS GOING TO BE EXPENSIVE TOO
As of Sunday, July 23, if you are behind the wheel of an automobile and you are holding any electronic device, you can be stopped and fined $136 for a first offense and $234 for a second offense within 5 years.
According to an article in the Columbian dated Saturday, July 22, your insurance company will be notified of all infractions.
The Columbian also reports that the law prohibits picking up an electronic device even while at a stop light or sign.
Our advice — put the phone, iPad, or other device down while you are behind the wheel — you will make our community safer and your bank account fatter.
About the Author
Brad Thayer is a partner at the Schauermann Thayer firm. Brad is licensed in both Oregon and Washington. He has been practicing law since 2015. He was presented the 2018 Rising Star Award by the Clark County Bar Association. Brad's practice focuses on automobile collision, motorcycle, bicycle, pedestrian injury, dog bite, and myriad other types of injury and insurance cases. During his free time, Brad enjoys following the Portland Trail Blazers, playing basketball, going to concerts, and playing the drums. He especially enjoys hiking in the Columbia River Gorge and exploring other Northwest wonders.